IEEE Atlanta Section

Social Media



From: UGA Office of Academic Special Programs <>
Date: Tue, Apr 19, 2016 at 3:20 PM
Subject: 2016 Georgia Science & Engineering Fair: IEEE Awards
To: “” <>, “” <>
Cc: “” <>

Dear Theresa and Daniel,

On behalf of the University of Georgia and the nearly 800 students and teachers who participated in the 68th Georgia Science & Engineering Fair March 31st – April 2nd, I want to thank you again for your generous sponsorship of the IEEE Atlanta Section Awards for Electrical & Mechanical Engineering and Materials & Bioengineering. We had a wonderful event and know the students had an exciting and rewarding experience sharing their research with some of the top science professionals in Georgia. We are delighted that you are so committed to enriching the GSEF experience andencouraging the brightest and most promising young scientists and engineers from across the state.

We are also so grateful to Jim Remich for judging for the awards and presenting them on stage at the Awards Ceremony!

Winners – IEEE Atlanta Section Awards

The recipients of these awards are Madison Lamontagne, Ethan Harrison, Morgan Hines, Ethan Damiani, Bailey Damiani, and Joseph Earles. I have attached a document with more information about these students as well as invoices to facilitate payment of the award items. I also hope you will enjoy these photos taken with Jim and the award winners at the GSEF Awards Ceremony on April 2nd, 2016:

Again, thank you for your continued support of the Georgia Science & Engineering Fair. Plans are already underway for the 69th Georgia Science & Engineering Fair, which is tentatively scheduled for March 30 – April 1, 2017. I will begin reaching out to previous award sponsors around October of this year, and I hope we can partner with you to offer this award again!

With Gratitude,

Laura Brewer


Laura Brewer, Director

Georgia Science & Engineering Fair

Office of Academic Special Programs

UGA Center for Continuing Education, Suite 198

Phone: 706-542-6473



ATLANTA SECTION MEMBER, Dr. Biing Hwang “Fred” Juang, Named Recipient 2014


Dr. Biing Hwang Juang, a member of the Atlanta Section, has been named the recipient of the 2014 IEEE JAMES L. FLANAGAN SPEECH AND AUDIO PROCESSING AWARD “for pioneering contributions to automatic speech recognition and speech coding.” Dr. Juang is currently the Motorola Foundation Chair Professor and Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology, and will receive this most prestigious IEEE-level award in a formal presentation at a 2014 IEEE venue to be determined. If you think you know someone in the Atlanta Section who may be eligible for an IEEE Technical Field Award, please visit for more information on eligibility and general award criteria. The nomination deadline for the 2015 IEEE Technical Field Awards is 31 January 2014.

  • Upcoming Events

    Tue 24

    ExCom/AdCom Meeting

    July 24 @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
    Aug 07
    Aug 14

    IEEE Atlanta PES Lunch Meeting:

    August 14 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
    Aug 30

    Atlanta YP Hiring Event 2018

    August 30 @ 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
    Sep 06

    IEEE YP Atlanta – DuMore Improv

    September 6 @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm