Invitation to the 24th European Navigation Conference (ENC 2016) in Helsinki, Finland


Invitation to the 24th European Navigation Conference (ENC 2016) in Helsinki, Finland

Dear Colleagues,

The 24th edition of the European Navigation Conference (ENC 2016), co-sponsored by EUGIN, Nordic
Institute of Navigation, and IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society, will be held at the Finlandia Hall in Helsinki, Finland during May 30-June 2, 2016.

The conference focus will be on innovations in positioning, navigation, and timing technologies and applications for land, sea, and air. Topic areas include GNSS positioning, indoor and urban navigation, and position-based applications. Special topics include navigation challenges in the Arctic and positioning solutions using geospatial big-data and in intelligent transportation. Furthermore, it promises to be a unique networking event for all participants from academia, the public sector, and industry.

In this edition of ENC, the welcome keynotes will be presented by Ms. Anne Berner, Finland’s Minister of Transport and Communications, Mr.  Matthias Petschke, Director for European Satellite Navigation Programmes, European Commission, and Ms. Tiina Tuurnala, Deputy Director General, Finnish Transport Agency. The technical keynotes will be given by Dr. Jari Syrjärinne, HERE Ltd., and Prof. Gérard Lachapelle, University of Calgary, and the closing keynote by Prof. John Raquet, Air Force Institute of Technology. The conference will feature also technical presentations, panels, posters and an industry exhibition. The social programme of ENC 2016 will showcase some unique sights that Helsinki has to offer, including the ice-breaker evening onboard an actual ice-breaker vessel Urho, and performances b Finnish Kantele musician.

The program is now available at Registration is open. Registration options include fees for the whole conference as well as for individual days.

Looking forward to your participation at the conference and welcoming you to Helsinki!

Best regards,
Prof. Heidi Kuusniemi, General Chair,
Dr. Laura Ruotsalainen, Technical Chair,
Dr. Sarang Thombre, Program Chair,

ENC 2016 Conference Office
Confedent International Ltd.

Comments are closed.