Electing New IEEE IAS Executive Committee for The Year of 2018

The Annual General Meeting of the IEEE Students Branch of University of Moratuwa Sri Lanka was held on 24th of May at 10.30 p.m. onwards. The Annual General Meeting of IAS Student Branch was also held parallel to that. All IEEE members of the University of Moratuwa which includes over 50 IAS members, participated to the ceremony including the IAS chapter adviser Dr. Upuli Jayathunga, IAS chapter  Chairman Mr. Lakshitha Gunasekara, Secretary Ms. Hirunima Jayasekara, Treasurer Mr. Vinoj Jayasundara and other committee members of IAS Students Branch.

Electing new Officials for the Upcoming Year was a major part of the IAS Annual General Meeting. As a part of that, new officials were elected for the IAS chapter of IEEE Students Branch University of Moratuwa. They were selected after a thorough analyzing process, in which they were analyzed based on their Volunteering Experience and Leadership Abilities. As a result of that process, Mr. Ravindu Rashmin was elected as the new Chairman, Ms. Hashini De Silva was elected as the new secretary and Mr. Naveen Karunanayake was elected as the new treasurer.

A key factor of the AGM was that, more than any other chapter in the Students Branch, more IAS chapter members participated in the AGM and they actively volunteered to make the AGM a success.

IEEE Officials – Knowledge Transfer Session

After the election of new officials for the year 2018, the former Executive Committee of the IAS Chapter of the IEEE Students Branch of University of Moratuwa has organized a knowledge transfer session, in order to transfer their experience and advice to the newly elected committee. This was held on 28th of May, 2018 at the Electronic And Telecommunications Department premises of University of Moratuwa.

Because the former committee had achieved so much during their time , such as Most Outstanding Student Branch Chapter 2018 , 4th place of IAS CMD humanitarian contest 2018 , Most outstanding Chapter Organizer 2018 , Second Place of 2018’s most Happening Students Branch and two prices in Myron Zucker Undergraduate Student Design Contest , the newly appointed committee members were very happy to be participated in this event and they were very enthusiastic and energetic.

Former Chairman Mr. Lakshitha Gunasekara, Former  Secretary Ms. Hirunima Jayasekara, Former Treasurer Mr. Vinoj Jayasundara, Former Vice President Mr. Hasitha Prashan participated to this event representing the former committee. Representing the new committee, elected Chairman Mr. Ravindu Rashmin, elected Secretary Ms. Hashini De Silva, elected Treasurer Mr. Naveen Karunanayake and elected Editor Ms. Chathuri Jayaweera participated to the event.

In the event, former committee members shared their experience throughout the year and the challenges they faced while lifting the IAS Students Branch Chapter to a more higher position. They also shared their ideas regarding the upcoming period and how the new committee should implement those ideas. After a successful session of knowledge and experience transfer, the new committee stated that they are hoping to achieve more than the former committee achieved and they promised to bring the IAS Students Branch Chapter of University of Moratuwa to a higher place in Sri Lanka, Region 10 and globally.