Jef Beerten (KU Leuven & EnergyVille, Belgium, IEEE EPPI WG Energy chair)

Jef Beerten received the M.Sc. degree in electrical engineering and a Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the University of Leuven (KU Leuven), Belgium, in 2008 and 2013, respectively.

In 2011, he was a visiting researcher at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Stockholm, Sweden, for three months. From April 2014 until March 2015, he was a visiting postdoctoral researcher at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Trondheim, Norway.

Currently, he is a postdoctoral researcher with KU Leuven and EnergyVille. His research interests include future power system dynamics, modeling, and control. Dr. Beerten is an active member of both the IEEE and CIGRE. Dr. Beerten received the first ABB Research Award in Honor of Hubertus von Gruenberg in 2016, the KBVE/SRBE Robert Sinave Award 2013 and the Prix Paul Caseau 2014 from the Institut de France – EDF Foundation for his Ph.D. thesis on modeling and control of DC grids.

Jef Beerten
Dept. Electr. Eng. (ESAT) – electa EnergyVille
Kasteelpark Arenberg 10, box 2445 Thor Park, Poort Genk 8310

tel. + 32 16 32 10 39