IEEE was originally an acronym for the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. Today, the organization’s scope of interest has expanded into so many related fields, that it is simply referred to by the letters I-E-E-E (pronounced Eye-triple-E). A non-profit organization, IEEE is the world’s leading professional association for the advancement of technology.

The IEEE Daejeon Section has been making the second largest Section in Korea over a number of decades since its establishment on June 17, 1991. The Daejeon Section has been accelerating many accomplishments such as hosting and sponsoring technical conferences and encouraging student activities. As of 2007, the Daejeon Section has over 1200 members. The fact that 60% of them are the student members shows that the possibility of increase not only in member numbers but also in exuberant activities.

Late 1970’s, as Daedeok Science Town formed to occupy many nationwide research centers at the northern part of Daejeon city, the number of scientists and researchers has increased dramatically, especially in the area of electronics and information technology. This helped the Daejeon Section accelerate its activities between universities and research institutes.

IEEE Daejeon Section has sponsored a number of major conferences in Korea including annual International Conference of Advanced Communication (ICAT). Each year ICACT consisted of about 80 technical sessions with more than 400 papers from many countries. In 2008, the Daejeon Section also co-sponsored IEEK (Institute of Electronics Engineers of Korea) Daejeon Branch Conference and gave the best student presenters the IEEE Daejeon Section Best Student Paper Awards.

For the aim of helping students be familiar with IEEE and give more chance of activities relating to the spirit of the Institute, the Daejeon Section founded 5 Student Branches at the major universities within the area of Daejeon city and Chung-Nam province. As of 2008, the Daejeon Section has Student Branches at Chungnam National University, Kongju National University, Hanbat National University, ICU(Information & Communications University), and KAIST(Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology).