IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity

2014 NTC Award Winners Announced

The IEEE Nanotechnology Council Awards Committee has announced its 2014 award winners for the IEEE Nanotechnology Pioneer Award, and the IEEE NTC Early Career Award.   These awards will be presented at IEEE NANO 2014 in Toronto, Canada in August.

Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology

Stephen Y. Chou,
Joseph C. Elgin Professor of Engineering
Princeton University

“For seminal inventions, developments, and academic-industrial-impacts of new nanopatterning methods, especially nanoimprint; and new paradigm-shift electronic, optical, magnetic, biological nanodevices.”

Professor Chou is as prominent educator and researcher in nanotechnology and is widely recognized for developing a broad range of new nanofabrication methods. Key among this is his invention of nanoimprint lithography (NIL) in 1995. Professor Chou has received many awards for his work, and in 2007 he was inducted into the National Academy of Engineering.

Early Career Award in Nanotechnology

Mona Jarrahi
Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering

“For contributions to the development of nano-plasmonic and nano-photonic devices and quantum well structures for advancement of terahertz technology.”

Professor Jarrahi has pioneered the use of plasmonic nanostructures inside of photoconductive terahertz devices, which has led to orders of magnitude enhancement in responsivity for applications including chemical sensing, security screening and medical imaging and diagnostics. Professor Jarrahi has received many Young Investigator awards, including the 2013 Grainger Foundation Frontiers of Engineering Award from the National Academy of Engineering.


Comments are closed.