Utilities & Energy compliance & Ethics Conference

Frank C. Lambert, Vice President – Chapters

PES Chapters…Plug-in!

251 PES / Joint Professional Chapters and 295 PES / Joint Student Branch Chapters in Region 1 through 10

Our PES Chapters are a great way to Plug-in to the IEEE Power & Energy Society in YOUR local area and get involved!

How’s your PES Chapter Doing?

Maybe you just completed your petition and started as a new chapter…we have already had nine New Professional Chapters and fifty-four NEW Student Branch Chapters formed in 2017.  New chapters offer excellent opportunities for leadership development, particularly for Young Professionals!

Growing Chapters typically have a diverse, engaged and progressive leadership team. They include both experienced and young professionals and rotate leadership positions regularly. They also actively use social media to stay in touch with their members.

Dying Chapters were previously growing chapters…but the leadership team burned out with no one to take their place.  Make sure you engage the next generation and get them involved in your leadership team! MGA Operations Manual: The term of office for all officers shall be one or two years.

Inactive Chapters don’t just happen overnight.  They result from Dying Chapters after everyone gets too busy to “do it one more year”! Boston Chapter is a great example of an inactive chapter that went from “worst to first” in only three years, winning our Outstanding Chapter Award in 2014. New leadership made the difference!

Dissolved Chapters result from inactivity for three years. MGA Operations Manual: A Chapter shall be dissolved automatically if it has failed to meet the requirements as stated in Section 9.6.J for three consecutive years.

If YOUR Chapter is NEW or GROWING, great!  If you’re not GROWING, you’re DYING.

Maybe it’s time for YOU to get involved and make your chapter outstanding!  PES has a number of resources described below to help grow and improve your Chapter.

Our local Chapters are providing:

  • Excellent Technical Programs on current topics: renewable energy integration, Smart Grid, electric vehicles, etc.
  • Networking opportunities to grow your career
  • Leadership development opportunities
  • Mentoring for our PES Student Branches
  • Tutorials and Professional Development Courses
  • Distinguished Lecturer Presentations
  • Awards and Recognition for our members

Our PES Chapters Website, https://www.ieee-pes.org/pes-communities/chapters/chapter-resources, has information on:

  • Chapter Training
  • Chapter Awards
  • High Performing Chapter Program
  • Distinguished Lecturer Program
  • Webmaster Resources

Information on all of our local chapters can be accessed using the Chapter Locator, http://www.ieee-pes.org/pes-communities/chapters/chapter-locator.

Contact the Chapter Chair to volunteer to get involved!

PES Chapter Support

If your Chapter needs help or there’s not a PES Chapter near you, contact your Region Representative to find out how to start one.

Region 1 – Bryan Gwyn, bgwyn@quanta-technology.com
Region 2 – Rachel Krepps, Rachel.Krepps@bge.com
Region 3 – Daniel Diaz, mr.daniel.d@ieee.org
Region 4 – Paul Pabst, paul.pabst@sandc.com
Region 5 – Cat Wong, catwong@ieee.org
Region 6 – Naim Logic, naimlogic@cox.net
Region 7 – Mazana Armstrong, mazana.armstrong@ieee.org
Region 8 – Jovica Milanovic, jovica.milanovic@manchester.ac.uk
Region 9 – Nelson Segoshi, n.segoshi@ieee.org
Region 10 – Dean Sharafi, Dean.Sharafi@aemo.com.au