Upcoming Events

Jun 24


Jan Reber

It is with great sadness we announce the passing of Jan Reber a long time ESSB contributor.  The obituary for Jan can be found here https://www.stitzelfuneralhome.com/notices/Jan-Reber

ESSB 2019 Meeting and Working Group Sessions, Feb 4-8, 2019 – CenturyLink Tower, Phoenix AZ

Don’t miss our upcoming IEEE ESSB General Meeting as we kick off 2019 with introductions of the new ESSB Officer team.  Chris Searles moves into the role of past-chair while Curtis Ashton moves into the Chair position.  Click on the link below and read about all the exciting opportunities to engage.  Then, make your plans to register now.  This is high-season in Arizona, so the sooner you make your reservations, the better. Meeting details.

IEEE ESSB will hold it’s 2019 Winter General Meeting in Phoenix AZ, February 4-8

The ESSB 2019 Winter Meeting will be held at the Century-Link offices in uptown Phoenix this coming February. The meeting promises to offer a solid opportunity for members to greet the new ESSB Committee Officers: Curtis Ashton, Chair; Babu Chalamala, Vice-Chair; and Steve Vechy, Secretary. Tom Carpenter will continue to serve as Committee Treasurer and Registrar and Jim McDowall will continue to serve as Committee Standards Coordinator. Other ESSB and Subcommittee Officers will be introduced as well. Chris Searles will become Past-Chair. Details and registration information will be posted to this website shortly after Labor Day. Check back for those details in early September.

The 2018 Summer ESSB Committee Meeting a Solid Success

Jim McDowall was awarded with the IEEE ESSB Technical Committee 2018 Outstanding Service Award. The Award was presented to Jim by Shanon Nason, PES Membership Services Administrator along with Lesley Varga, our ESSB Awards Chair.



16 different Working Groups held individual sessions during the week. The Wednesday evening social networking event was enjoyed by all. The Energy Storage and Stationary Battery Committee General Meeting was attended by nearly over 100 individuals at the IEEE Society Headquarters in Piscataway, NJ on June 25.




NFPA 855 Fire and Safety Code Meetings Create Some Controversy

Bill Cantor, ESSB Safety Codes Working Group Chair and IEEE SCC 18 representative to the 855 Committe, along with several members of the ESSB Committee attended two NFPA 855 Committee meetings in Salt Lake City, UT and NFPA HQ in Quincy, MA this past month. NFPA 855 is being drafted to serve safety issues related to installation and maintenance for all batteries and some other technologies that will function as energy storage devices in the new ESS arena. At issue is whether lead-acid batteries used in traditional stand-by applications should be subject to the special requirements being assigned to the newer BESS technologies, especially since lead-acid has an established safety history and is already governed by a number of NFPA and UL codes. A major WG session will be led by Bill at our upcoming February 2019 meeting in Phoenix. See the February meeting agenda and notice for details.

ESSB Creates a special ESS Tutorial Task Force

As a result of the growing interest in energy storage systems and its related technologies, ESSB has created a special Task Force, headed up by ESSB member Ralph Masiello. Ralph has years of experience as a P.E. in the regulatory and application aspects of ESS. He currently consults on behalf of Quanta Technologies, and is respected globally for his expertise in ESS issues. Joining him on the Task Force is Curtis Ashton, ESSB Chair Elect; Babu Chalamala, ESSB Vice-Chair Elect; Jim McDowall, ESSB Standards Coordinator; Charlie Vartanian, SCC 21 Treasurer, Co-Chair of the Joint SCC 21/PES/ESSB Energy Storage Task Force and member of the ESSB Committee. Chris Searles will continue as a member of this task force as well. The Task Force will evaluate invitations to conduct tutorials and other educational events, and manage the process of these events in concert with Dean Fiorino, IEEE Senior Staff advisor.

IEEE ESSB Chair Awarded Battery Person of the Year at Recent BATTCON 2018 Conference.

Chris Searles, Chair of the IEEE ESSB Committee, was selected by the BATTCON organizing committee as its 2018 Battery Person of the Year.  He will be inducted into the BATTCON Battery Hall of Fame as one of its members.  This is an award and recognition given to one individual each year at the annual BATTCON conference for making a long-term contribution to the enhancement and advancement of the stationary battery industry.  Chris stated that he was humbled as there are many who deserve this recognition but honored to be chosen.