Category Archives: Awards of Highest Distinction

R1 Life Fellow Ronald R. Yager receives the 2016 IEEE Frank Rosenblatt Award

IS_RYagerIEEE FRANK ROSENBLATT AWARD—recognizes outstanding contribution(s) to the advancement of the design, practice, techniques, or theory in biologically and linguistically motivated computational paradigms, including but not limited to neural networks, connectionist systems, evolutionary computation, fuzzy systems, and hybrid intelligent systems in which these paradigms are contained—sponsored by the IEEE Computational Intelligence Society—to RONALD R. YAGER (LFIEE)—Professor, Machine Intelligence Institute, Iona College, New York, New York, USA

Citation “For contributions to the theory of fuzzy sets and systems”

The IEEE Frank Rosenblatt Award was established in 2004.

The award is named in honor of Frank Rosenblatt who is widely regarded as one of the founders of neural networks. Basing his research on the study of fly vision, he developed the single-layer input layer and an output layer of neural cells. Frequent presentation of a pattern or patterns resulted in changes in the input to output connections, facilitating future recognition of these patterns, or memory.  His work influenced and even anticipated many modern neural network approaches.

R1 Fellow Kelin J. Kuhn receives the 2016 IEEE Frederik Philips Award

kuhn_kelinIEEE FREDERIK PHILIPS AWARD—recognizes outstanding accomplishments in the management of research and development resulting in effective innovation in the electrical and electronics industry—sponsored by Philips Electronics N.V.—to KELIN J. KUHN (FIEEE)—Professor, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, USA

Citation: “For technical leadership in the development and implementation of breakthrough CMOS technology”

The IEEE Frederik Philips Award was established in 1971 through an agreement between N.V. Philips Gloeilampenfabrieken (now called Philips Electronics N.V.) and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc.

R1 Fellow Leandros Tassiulas receives the 2016 IEEE Koji Kobayashi Computers and Communications Award

tassiulas-webIEEE KOJI KOBAYASHI COMPUTERS AND COMMUNICATIONS AWARD— recognizes outstanding contributions to the integration of computers and communications—sponsored by NEC Corporation — to LEANDROS TASSIULAS (FIEEE)—John C. Malone Professor of Electrical Engineering, Electrical Engineering Department, Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut, USA

Citation: “For contributions to the scheduling and stability analysis of networks”

The IEEE Koji Kobayashi Computers and Communications Award was established by the IEEE Board of Directors in 1986. The Award is named in honor of Dr. Koji Kobayashi, who has been a leading force in advancing the integrated use of computers and communications.

R1 Fellow Henning Schulzrinne receives the 2016 IEEE Internet Award

getPhoto.phpIEEE INTERNET AWARD—recognizes exceptional contributions to the advancement of Internet technology for network architecture, mobility, and/or end-use applications—sponsored by Nokia Corporation—to HENNING SCHULZRINNE (FIEEE)—Professor, Department of Computer Science, Columbia University, New York, New York, USA.

Citation: “For formative contributions to the design and standardization of Internet multimedia protocols and applications”

The IEEE Internet Award was established by the IEEE Board of Directors in June of 1999.