IEEE Awards

The IEEE Computer Society Awards — Deadline: 15 October 2016

Call for IEEE Computer Society Award nominations

IEEE Computer Society awards recognize outstanding achievements and highlight significant contributors in the teaching and R&D computing communities. All members of the profession are invited to nominate individuals who they consider most eligible to receive international recognition of an appropriate society award.

In the technical area, recognition may be given for pioneering and current contributions to the field of computer science and engineering.  Service awards are given to both volunteers and staff for well-defined and highly valued contributions to the Society. In addition, the Society encourages nominations of its members for appropriate IEEE awards.

Nomination Site:

For more information visit:

IEEE Educational Activities Board Awards – deadline: May 2, 2016

IEEE Educational Activities Board (EAB) Awards recognize and honor individuals and companies for major contributions to engineering and technical education.

MGA Outstanding Large, Medium, and Small Section Awards – deadline: May 15, 2016

The purpose of the MGA Outstanding Section Awards is to recognize one large, medium, and small Section across all Regions for their excellent work and successful efforts in fulfilling the educational and scientific goals of IEEE for the benefit of the public.

IEEE Medals – deadline: July 1, 2016

IEEE Medals are the highest awards that the IEEE presents on behalf of the IEEE Board of Directors. IEEE Medals embrace significant and broad IEEE interests and purposes. The highest honor is the IEEE Medal of Honor.

For more information, please visit:

IEEE Award for Distinguished Ethical Practices – deadline: July 1, 2016

Do you know of an IEEE member or an organization employing IEEE members that has shown exemplary ethical behavior/practices and/or has successfully advocated them? Then consider nominating that person or company for the IEEE Award for Distinguished Ethical Practices.

IEEE Recognitions – deadline: July 1, 2016

IEEE Recognitions are among the highest awards in the hierarchy of IEEE awards. They are presented to individuals or corporations for significant contributions to IEEE or for advances in technology within the technical fields of interest of IEEE.

IEEE Standards Awards – deadline: July 31, 2016

The IEEE-SA recognizes outstanding standards development participation through nine different award categories.

MGA Individual/Team Awards – deadline: October 15, 2016

IEEE Technical Activities Board Awards – deadlines vary

IEEE-HKN Awards – deadlines vary

A scholastic honor society, IEEE-Eta Kappa Nu has numerous award programs designed to promote and encourage educational excellence in electrical and computer engineering. These awards recognize outstanding accomplishments by students, professors, and industry professionals who make significant contributions to society, and who exemplify a balance of scholarship, service, leadership, and character.

Supporting and Sustaining Friend of IEEE MGA Award – no deadline

These awards are to specifically recognize support provided to IEEE and its members, in support of its goals, by firms, divisions of firms, or individuals.

IEEE Region 1 Website