SDC Welcome 2012

Welcome to the 2012 Twelfth Annual Student Design Contest, hosted by IEEE Rochester Institute of Technology Student Branch.

  The IEEE RIT Student Branch invites students in accredited engineering schools to showcase their senior level, undergraduate, design projects at our annual student design contest. Each year we mail contest advertisement posters to schools in the northeast US and Canada (IEEE regions 1, 2, and 7). Projects are evaluated by judges experienced in the field of engineering and six awards are given based on specific criteria. Held during the annual ImagineRIT Festival, the student design contest is a great way to obtain feedback from industry professionals as well as gain promotion of your design project and connectivity to other engineers.   When: May 5th 2012 7:00 am – 8:00pm Where: Rochester Institute of Technology Xerox Auditorium, Bldg 9 Application Deadline: Team applications will be accepted until April 13th. How to Apply: Visit This Page to enter your team in the 2012 Student Design Competition. Also Email Us the following information (Once per team):
  • First and Last name of each team member
  • A current IEEE membership number for at least one of the team members
  • A contact E-mail address, phone number, and street address for the team members
  • The full name of the team’s university and department
  • The project’s advisor name and E-mail
  • Project title and a brief description (~100-200 words)
  • Links to project website if available
  • Entry documentation, papers, or reports can be emailed after registering
Invitation/ Event Description: The Rochester Institute of Technology Student Branch of the IEEE invites you to participate in our 12th annual Student Design Contest. This event has become an excellent way to showcase innovative projects related to electrical engineering built by teams consisting of undergraduate students. Time and time again participating teams have proven that through their perseverance and intellect some truly awe inspiring advancements in technology are achievable and we look forward to carrying on this tradition. As reward for these students diligence, a panel of judges will determine the first, second and third place teams to win this year’s cash prizes. RIT IEEE holds the right to accept or deny any applicants.

Speaker & Judges 2012


Jeff Kramer is the Product Marketing Manager at MKS ENI Products in Rochester, NY. Jeff competed his Engineering undergraduate work at Penn State University and RIT, and is also a graduate of the University of Rochester Executive MBA program. He served as a member of the High Intensity Laser Research Faculty at the University of Rochester and has over 30 years of experience in electronic design, project management, product marketing and manufacturing in the Semiconductor, Solar, Process Control and Industrial Manufacturing marketplaces. Aaron Radomski is the Chief Scientist at MKS ENI Products in Rochester, NY. He received a BS in Computer Engineering at RIT in 1989 and an MS in Electrical Engineering at the Johns Hopkins University in 1995. He has over 25 years of industry experience in areas such as Power Systems Engineering, Semiconductor IC Processing, Reliability Physics, and Failure Analysis. Ms. Myra A. Torres is a Senior Lead Engineer and Program manager at Impact Technologies, focusing on prognostics for electronic systems, and new R&D. At Impact Myra interests have been on fiber optic diagnostic innovations, and her team has developed real time video implementations for fiber optic end face diagnostics, wireless human performance monitoring and condition based maintenance for avionics. Myra has over 15 years of experience in electronics. Prior to Impact, she was Assistant Research Director for PHM development at the Center for Advanced Life Cycle Engineering (CALCE) at the University of Maryland. Prior to CALCE, she was at Sun Microsystems, where she was a manager and individual contributor in Advanced Component Engineering and Signal Integrity. Myra’s focus at Sun was in device, packaging, and interconnect design; as well as reliability for new microprocessor modules. She also initiated the collaborative research program at Sun, which transitioned several key research programs from the University of Maryland and Georgia Tech to Sun Microsystems. Myra also architected IP development that transitioned to Cadence Systems and was incorporated into their Signal Integrity tool sets. She has degrees in Mechanical Engineering from Cal Poly University and Technology Management from Pepperdine University, and is currently active at MIT Sloan’s management program. Myra is also an active member of IEEE where she serves as the Rochester Student Activities Chair and on the R&D and S&T policy forums for IEEE USA.

Speaker: Dr. Robert Pearson

Dr. Pearson is a graduate of the Rush Henrietta school district right here in Henrietta. He is the son of an RIT Imaging Science graduate and retired RIT faculty/staff member. He received his BS and MS degrees in electrical engineering from RIT. He played soccer for RIT and did his coops with Fairchild Semiconductor in Portland Maine and Palo Alto California. As an undergraduate student under the supervision of Dr. Lynn Fuller he fabricated the first diodes, solar cells and transistors ever made at RIT. After graduation he worked in the semiconductor industry before returning to teach at RIT as the first faculty member hired by the Microelectronic Engineering program. He obtained his PhD from SUNY Buffalo in Electrical Engineering. After helping to establish the RIT Microelectronic Engineering program he left RIT to be a founding faculty member of the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Engineering and supervise the start-up of their new clean-room and microelectronics program. He returned to RIT in 2003 and in 2008 he became the Microelectronic Engineering program director. His research interests include semiconductor device and micro-electro-mechanical systems design, simulation, fabrication and testing.

Rules & Judging Criteria 2012

Judging Criteria:

Presentation – 15% Project Demo – 20% Teamwork – 15% Quality of Technical Content – 30% Creativity/Innovation – 20% Total – 100% *Add up the total points of all four judges for each team.  

Honorable Mentions:

1x Most Marketable 1x Most Innovation
*Each judge is to choose 1st and 2nd for each category
*For each category, the team with the most judges votes wins
*If tie still exists, see chairman