Click here for a list of upcoming events or click the SEM Calendar TAB above.

December 2017 issue of Wavelengths is now published! Check it out at our rich newsletter Archive!


NOTE:  There is an Daylight Saving Time error in the SEM Calendar. Carefully check the start time or your meeting.  Verify using vTools.
November 2017 SEM Section Conference Photos.

Dr Harpreet Singh receiving award for Distinguished Life Member Affinity Group at Sections Congress in Sydney, Australia. Presenting is Karen Pedersen, IEEE USA President. Presiding is Region 4 Director Bernie Sander.


Fall 2016 Section Conference Photos at:!AviaJmwAPETtipQ7ztIjeo9opfOTHw

2016 Fall Section Conference Photos


Pictured:  Robert Neff, Bryan Johnson. Mo Berri and Akio Fujimaki.

ZF presented a check for $3000 to sponsor SEM STEM activities teaching ‘Fundamentals of Electricity’ and ‘Microcomputer Expansion & Programming’ for 5th through 12th grade students at the Dearborn-Heights Caroline Kennedy Library.







IEEE SEM thanks ZF for sponsoring STEM activities in Southeastern Michigan!


2016_Recognition_Award_Banners_Silver_Retention_Southeastern Michigan Section

** Important:  If you are a chapter web page editor, the login has changed.   Please email for the new procedure.  ***

Wavelengths Newsletter Vol.56 Issue 8 August 2016

NEW! e-Wavelengths




IEEE SEM Officer Training page: 

All our IEEE SEM Officers are invited to participate in a series of ‘Virtual Officer Training Classes.  These classes are designed to give you the fundamental knowledge of your duties and responsibilities as an IEEE Geo-unit officer and an introduction to the tools and methods available to you to assist you in your efforts.

Kimball Williams N8FNC NCE



Mr. Cyrous Rostamzadeh received the IEEESEM Section Outstanding Member Award for contributions to the EMC Chapter VIII and the SEM Section.  The award was presented at the 2015 Spring Conference of the IEEESEM Section on April 28th.


Kimball Williams1

Kimball Williams received The Jack Sherman Outstanding Member Award for significant professional and technical contributions to the Institute. His example and dedication to the profession has inspired all who know him to further the high standards prescribed by IEEE. The award was presented at the January 24, 2015 IEEE Region 4-6 Meeting in San Diego.


Congratulations to Scott Lytle for Receiving the IEEE 2015 Sustained Service to the EMC Society Award

Jim Woodyard, EMC Chapter VIII Awards Director, presenting to Scott Lytle, on behalf of the IEEE Electromagnetic Compatibility Society, the 2015 Sustained Service to the EMC Society Award. The award was presented at the October 7th IEEE SEM EMC Chapter VIII meeting. The award was announced in August at the EMC 2015 Symposium held in Dresden. The award citation reads: For service since 2000, successfully leading the Southeastern Michigan EMC Chapter to become the most successful Chapter in the Section and also spearheading each year’s very successful “EMC Fest.” Scott is the current chair of the chapter and has served continuously as chair for the past 15 years.


CJ ChungTayfunLytle_ESD_Banquet_2015ESD_Dinner2_2015ESD_Dinner_SEM_GroupESD_Dinner_2015

Photos from the March 11, 2015 ESD Gold Award Banquet at Schoolcraft College Vistatech Center.  Congratulations to award winners Kevin Taylor, C J Chung, Tayfun Ozdemir and Scott Lytle.




IEEE Power & Energy Society Scholarship plus Program Power and energy engineers work with some of todays most exciting technologies, developing solutions to problems that affect our lives and lifestyles. The PES Scholarship Plus Initiative provides scholarships and real world experience to undergraduates who are interested in power and energy engineering careers. See for more information on chapter presentations


Kevin taylor

IEEE member Kevin Taylor receiving an Detroit CVB award for bring many conventions to Detroit



IEEE Southeastern Michigan Section member promoting membership and the Transportation Electrification Initiative (TEI) at SAE World Congress. IEEE SEM member Kevin Taylor, along with Bobby Wong and William Tonti of IEEE TEI


“Our organizational structure is changing starting now and moving on into 2014. We can better serve our members by moving to a more defined structure to facilitate communication and reduce redundancy of efforts. We are all volunteers and as such we should be able work within our Section in areas we have interest, feel comfortable, gain leadership skills and are intellectually stimulated. At the same time we should have experienced leaders to guide us so past best practices are retained and poor practices are not repeated. All volunteers, positions and duties remain the same. Just the organizational structure changes for the better. If you have concerns, compliments, or an opinion, I would like to hear from you.” 2014 IEEE SEM Organization (12-17-13) Robert Neff Section Chair (Elect 2014)


IEEE Member Discounts and Benefits Program – IEEE Member Discounts

University of Michigan’s – Post Doctoral Fellowship Program


Additional section events may viewed on the calendar or

Edit this entry.