WF-IoT was held in Seoul, Korea, 6-8 March 2014

Conference Overview

The IEEE World Forum on Internet of Things 2014 was held at the Seoul Olympic Parktel Hotel in Seoul, Korea on 6-8 March 2014.

This flagship conference featured a comprehensive technical program including numerous sessions, tutorials, and an industrial exhibition. The program featured prominent keynote speakers and vendor exhibits. Proposals for tutorials, sessions and industry exhibits were also invited. Extended abstracts describing research at the initial stage or relevant industrial results were also invited.

The theme of WF-IoT was to investigate how progress in technologies and applications of IoT can be nurtured and cultivated for the benefit of society.

Conference Program

WF-IoT 2014 Keynote Speakers included:

Dr. Kyungwhoon Cheun, Senior Vice President, Samsung Electronics DMC R&D Center
Dr. Vida Ilderem, Vice President of Intel Labs and Director of the Integrated Platform Research for Intel Corporation
Chung-Sheng Li, Director of Commercial Systems, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

Tutorials were held on the following topics:

• Application Architectures for Internet of Things: State-of-the-art and Research Directions
• The Convergence of Social Networks and the Internet of Things: Opportunities Technologies and Challenges
• Service Platforms and Related International Standards

For details, please see the WF-IoT Program.


• The WF-IoT Conference Proceedings are now available in IEEE Xplore. Please click here to access them.

• IEEE Announces Keynote Speakers from IBM, Intel and Samsung at IEEE World Forum on Internet of Things (WF-IoT) in March 2014 - Read More


Financial Co-Sponsors:   IEEE Communications Society   Consumer Electronics Society   KICS

Sensors Council   IEEE Signal Processing Society   IEEE Society on Social Implications of Technology   Reliability Society

                                                            IEEE Future Directions Committee

Technical Co-Sponsors:   CEDA   IEEE Communications Society IoT Emerging Technical Committee   IEEE Computer Society

                                                            IEEE Standards Association

WF-IoT Registration

Registration for WF-IoT has ended.


Important Dates

  • 15 January 2014: Papers - Camera-ready Submissions Due
  • 22 January 2014: Author Registration Deadline
  • 31 January 2014: Final Tutorial Material Due
  • 6 February 2014: Participant Panel Call for Presentations Deadline
  • 12 February 2014: Early Registration - Extended Deadline
  • 6-8 March 2014: WF-IoT Conference

Organizing Committee

  • Chair: Roberto Minerva
  • Co-Chair: Jaiyong Lee
  • Vice Chair: Dong-Ho Cho
  • Financial Chairs: Edward Cole
    Sanghyun Ahn (Local Co-Chair)
  • Publicity Chairs:
  •     Asia: Dr. Rongshan Yu
  •     Europe: Dr. Jaesung Song
  •     Oceania:
        Dr. Naveen Chilamkurti
  •     Americas: Dr. Lee Stogner
  • Sunghyun Choi (Local Co-Chair)
  • Tutorial Chairs:
    Prof. Mohammad Obaidat
    Prof. Hung-Yu Wei
  • Publication Chairs:
    Stuart Sharrock
    Yacine Ghamri-Doudane
    KyungHi Chang (Local Co-Chair)
  • Exhibition Chairs: Fa-Long Luo
    Seung Hyong Rhe (Local Co-Chair)
  • Patronage Chairs:
    Dr. Oleg Logvinov
    Dr. Jiangtao (Gene) Wen
    Sang-Jo Yoo (Local Co-Chair)
  • Special Session Chairs:
    Dr. Zhenzhong Chen
    Prof. Tokunbo Ogunfunmi
  • Registration Co-Chair:
    Jae-Hyun Kim
  • Local Arrangement Chair:
    Jong-Moon Chung
  • Web Co-Chair:
    Yong-Hoon Choi

  • View the Organizing Committee Members